…..me? stupid??

010

When I first slept with you
I mistook you for god.
But then I thought “wait a minute –
you can’t be god. You exist.”

That made me feel monumentally stupid
but I consoled myself by thinking
plenty of folks have mistaken
far worse things for god.

In fact, it occurred to me that not only
was I not that stupid, but in fact
I probably wasn’t even the stupidest
guy you’d ever slept with

because, face it
if that last guy was so goldarned clever
how come I’m the one here tonight
mistaking you for god?

This entry was published on 06/07/2013 at 2:37 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

42 thoughts on “…..me? stupid??

  1. Pingback: Straightforward Poems for Straightforward People | tarnation and eudemonia

  2. did you ever mistake me for God?

  3. You live and learn!

  4. beautiful, brilliant, and I can see your smile from here 😉

  5. As a sociological staircase in study, this makes for a surprisingly smooth descent

  6. Cassie on said:

    I can see why you don’t talk about your poetry to her. I’m not sure I;d know how to take this. But then I do like the idea of you sleeping with me, so…

  7. You’re smaaaaaarter than the average bear!

  8. franczeka on said:

    You are such a charmer. This made me smirk.

  9. Seb, this revolved and evolved and ended on an up note. I loved it. Thx for stopping by my blog, too!

    Amy

  10. maxibigcee on said:

    I love your fresh sexual frankness and confidence. It is confronting, refreshing, and yes, intriguing and tempting. This is what I call a “real man” writing.

  11. redandtheblue66 on said:

    What you are telling us here is you haven’t learned from the mistakes that led to your last poem.

  12. Very witty.

  13. That’s clever! 😀

  14. apacketofchipsontheceiling on said:

    You’re not stupid – just wilful and sexy.

  15. Excellent observation that will hold the relationship in good stead!

  16. darkeyesblueveil on said:

    You’re stupid like a fox 🙂

  17. It’s really beautiful, is this poem autobiographic ?

  18. Yeah, I like it. Not sure I exactly follow the argument, but it must be interesting to sleep with god.

    • The argument is something along the lines that I slept with something that exists, so if you drew a Euler diagram of the sets of “things that exist” and “things that don’t exist” then that with which I slept would be represented in the former and god in the latter.

  19. audreyhipbone on said:

    Yuk yuk yuk, dumbass!

  20. lindastoria on said:

    Fucking awesome.

  21. Not your best but it has a certain waggish charm.

  22. Doris on said:

    brilliant! like all your work!

  23. Awww, that was cute, haha

  24. Anonymous on said:

    Generally, I’m not much for poetry (My son is the one who is the poet). However, when I read this poem I have to say that I’ve been there, felt that. 🙂

  25. Gosh, what a satisfying revelation that must have been! Ha!

  26. Now this i like! My cup of tea indeed.

Leave a Reply

