i had forgotten

until your face, turned away,
reminded me.
the luxury of your flesh
beneath my fingers,
the brush of your cheek ,
low against mine.
of ghostless miles,
of unclouded skies,
the sigh and the arch
and the low, burning rumble.
how the weather changes
how you took me in.
the mysteries of knots,
the rapture of flesh entangled
your soft thighs against
my hip bone
i went searching for flowers
mingled in your hair
i found pearls
and a hurricane
and the confidence between flesh
was a shining necklace of sins
i had forgotten.

This entry was published on 09/21/2012 at 3:54 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

52 thoughts on “i had forgotten

  1. Pingback: Straightforward Poems for Straightforward People « tarnation and eudemonia

  2. abdulbencamel on said:

    so organic a harvest – finding pearls in a hurricane without oysters, stripped this one of all poetic sins my son πŸ˜‰ – (ya gotta love it!)

  3. A warm, thick, erotic stew.

  4. Your poems like this can make we want o do some very, very bad things…

  5. darkeyesblueveil on said:

    I like that it “loops” from the last line back up to the top, that’s unique and clever.

    • Thanks Lois. The poem really is more a work of editing than writing. It has batted around for a little while looking for a way to go beyond what it was and I think that recurring circle was the right way to do it.

  6. pearls and a hurricane? Might I suggests a pearl and a hurricane maybe a little more correct?

  7. Oh, if he finds my pearls, there’s be a hurricane, that’s for sure. This is a classic, Seb

  8. If wish I could choose “Love” instead of “Like.” I love the mood of this poem, and the language is evocative and surprising. Lines I wish I’d written: “the luxury of your flesh” and “I found pearls and a hurricane.” Honestly, if a man wrote this about me, I would be his forever!

    • Really? Now, darlin’, I come from Maryland and our state motto is “Fatti maschil, Parole femine”. The poems are the parole femine, but it’s the fattit maschil you gotta look out for! πŸ™‚

  9. Oops…I meant “I” not “If”…

  10. yourejivingme on said:

    This is a love poem that reads like a plot and it ends just where it begins.

  11. Yeah, this one will get you laid, Sebbie.

  12. It’s been too long since you posted something romantic like this!

  13. lush recollection. for the necklace, I have a velvet box

  14. It’s all coming back to you now?

  15. hellznokel on said:

    But you made me remember.

  16. sex2poetry4life on said:

    I struggled with the opening here, until I read the end and realized…. this is the perfect mix of craft and pure, raw soul.

  17. You may have forgotten, but this awakened something primal in me – the power that I have.

  18. missdirected11 on said:

    This fairly shivers with desire

  19. hans kreher on said:

    Make me believe once more is possible, thank you Seb. How are you?

    • Hey Hans! Not bad for a shakey, ill tempered old cripple, How’s by you?

      • hans kreher on said:

        On the shakey part, had to get a tripod for the video camera. Are we supposed to have long lasting friendships after doing all the other stuff, which you so finely craft with your words?

        Keeping busy helps the time last longer, past with less notice.

  20. i found pearls
    and a hurricane…wow…love the images…this def. shivers with desire as missdirected11 says…nice..

  21. shesellzseeShellz on said:

    This is the pony she is riding?

  22. lindastoria on said:

    You’re getting into some heavy territory here, Seb.

  23. bashothegreat on said:

    A great tribute to the power of sensuous love.

  24. Wow the descriptions here are so vivid.

  25. isiscambassassassassian on said:

    Every image breathes life and the “you have not begun, begin again” ending is stunning

  26. audreyhipbone on said:

    Sounds like you are a quick study, then.

  27. olivesmeltz on said:

    Oh God, Sebbie! This is swimmingly sensual!

  28. How did I miss this? Oh, cummy and yummy, Seb!

  29. the rapture of flesh entangled – liking that line a lot!

  30. pearls and a hurricane. pearls and a hurricane. words staying with me. good poem sir. very good, memorable.

  31. Seriously good.

  32. πŸ˜‰ Each time I stop by, I’m more and more convinced that you should offer me either a drink or a smoke………. this is *can’t stop smiling* good, Seb……. ~ Love, B

  33. Glad you got some sins in there at the end of the poem – was beginning to suspect you’d gone all romantic on us! πŸ˜‰

  34. Pingback: Celebrating the Good | Deliberately Delicious

  35. Sensual…and so beautifully written. Love it. πŸ™‚

  36. This is absolutely gorgeous, very sensual!

  37. Pingback: Holding Patterns | Deliberately Delicious

Leave a Reply

