the pony

You wanted a pony
He bought you lame one
He asked you your price
He begged you to name one
You asked for some water
He gave you some rye
You said “let me live”
He said “first you must die”

You wanted a husband
You got a career
You needed him closer
But he disappeared
You wanted his children
He wanted your sister
He makes love to you
But he prays to his mistress

You wanted a pony
You got a pale horse
He gave you a chastity belt
You wanted divorce
He wanted mystery
And you, explanation
You sought an abortion
But were sent on vacation

You wanted white fences
He wanted grey walls
He wanted his manhood
You wanted his balls
You sought the death penalty
He wanted life
You said “I’ll be your lover”
He said “first be my wife”

You wanted a pony
He bought you a piebald
You rode it to Memphis
To sleep with his rival
You said “love knows no limit”
He said “love has no fear.
You wanted a pony.

The pony is here.

This entry was published on 09/07/2012 at 2:57 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

56 thoughts on “the pony

  1. Pingback: Straightforward Poems for Straightforward People « tarnation and eudemonia

  2. NotResponsibleAmy on said:

    That is straight up murderous, Seb.

  3. Be careful what you wish for…

  4. Excuse my language but I fucking love this.

  5. Reblogged this on Trent Lewin and commented:
    I love raw emotion. I love fearless writing and the desire to make a point. I think this poem has all of these things and then some.

    • Why thank yo. I’m not entirely sure what you did there but I am certain it was nice!

      • Yeah I didn’t fully get it until a bit ago, but I reblogged your post from my page so that anyone going to my page would see this and come to yours. I’m pretty sure that’s how it works. Anyway, excellent work sir!

  6. Seb–this is raw, real, and so damned good.

  7. Anonymous on said:

    Very unusual… and very very nice! It is one of those pieces I wish I had penned!

  8. Very unusual… and very very nice! It is one of those pieces I wish I had penned!

  9. It’s that delicate little dance between two people who loathe each other but have that co dependant thing going on. It will not end well.

    • Nah. They turned out okay. She’s a good egg and he’s not really half the butthead I make him out to be, I am sure.

  10. isiscambassassassassian on said:

    There’s so much raw tension in this.

  11. darkeyesblueveil on said:

    Gripping.

  12. So much concentrated bitterness! My favourite lines: “He wanted his manhood/ You wanted his balls…” I love the edginess of this poem, Seb.

  13. You invoke love’s terrors supremely.

  14. bashothegreat on said:

    The tension in this is incredible. Did she ride the pony?

  15. You don’t often do a rhymer, but when you do, it is so well rhymed.

  16. hans kreher on said:

    Seb, maybe we just don’t know how to ask, can’t explain the why, but…the insights here touch personally, melt into the general of how we are…thank you!

    On a note aside, with your consent, yesterday made some money selling books again, had to pay two high school kids on skate boards who passed by to levitate all the books outside onto the front lawn.
    We’re in for high winds, heavy bursts of rain today, the books are bundled up under canopy like the ark right now. Think I’ll disappear them all into the vault of the public library and get on with other work.

    You have returned, from where I see, hopefully as you want, all the best, hans

    • Hey Hans! Hope everything is well with you and the family. Y’all hunker down, there, now!

      • hans kreher on said:

        Family is well…but friends matter more. I’m O.K. Taking journalism course, in multimedia. Am “hunkering down” until St. Nicolas comes out of the forest again, will see then what comes…Thank you. There are fires now in British Columbia, today.

  17. shesellzseeShellz on said:

    She’s a Mustang Sally.

  18. one should ask cautiously.

  19. Reminds me of this Bonnie Prince Billy song:

  20. I never wanted a pony at all – not quite sure what that says about me, but I love the dark glee in this poem!

  21. Is that a hint of Schadenfreude, there, Mr Good German?

  22. audreyhipbone on said:

    Some wicked rhymes in this Seb and some very dark currents flowing through.

  23. lindastoria on said:

    This is the stuff you do best. The slow burn, oh yeah!

  24. liverloverlass on said:

    I think she got more than she bargained for!

  25. He isn’t horsing around, is he?

  26. I’d like to know what’s in back of that poem!

    • Hey 🙂

      It’s a piece which has been around for a while now. I tend to let things sit for a while after I write them to make sure they keep their truth over time. if it still rings good after a couple of years, I figure it’s a keeper and bang it out.

      The story is about a woman who saw me as a possible diversion from some issues in her marriage. I, in a rare show of discretion, told her that would be the worst possible mistake she could make under the circumstances :-). The poem basically tells her story back to her, the pony a clumsy metaphor for… well….

      Nice to see you here!

  27. 50 shades of hay.

  28. sex2poetry4life on said:

    What I like is that you not, at any point, chosen an *obvious* rhyme. You keep the rhythm straight, but there’s no showboating or being chi-chi for the sake of it.

  29. Ink black and wonderfully cinematic. You pivot the camera and twist the knife between desire and fear

  30. dookruby on said:

    New in these parts. This is awesome.

  31. Quite the journey you took us on here! How about the miniature ponies, would that be a different poem?

  32. It would have been so much simpler if she’d just been clearer on what she’d wanted in the first place..

  33. sometimes it’s just impossible to find common ground in a relationship…difficult…ugh…

  34. Love the flow in this!

  35. Love it! One of my favorite quotes ~ the only problem with having everything you ever wanted is having everything you ONCE wanted! 😉 Nice! ~ Love, Me

  36. wowza …love this one!

  37. Great flow. Through in a really catchy hook and Nick Cave will steal this.

  38. This is brilliant Seb, if not EVER SO slightly cynical!!! You made me laugh as well. Thanks.

  39. Love that rhythm…

Leave a Reply

