howdy. my name’s george and i’m from texas

I met him in a dancehall
in Clay County, West Virginia.
He said “Howdy, I’m from Texas
my name’s George.”
I said “George, it’s good to know you
but you’re a long, long way from Texas.
I wonder what has brought you here tonight?”

He said, “Seb, I’m glad you asked me that, I’ve
come to show the folks, whose hopes and dreams
I carried, I am still one of their number, that I don’t
put myself above them and that the sacred
Constitution and the laws of this great nation
apply to me equally as they might apply to them.”

I met him in a bar one night
on Laight Street, New York City
He said “Howdy, I’m from Texas
my name’s George.”
I said “George, it’s good to know you
but you’re a long, long way from Texas.
I wonder what has brought you here tonight?”

He said “Seb, not one mile south of here was
my great and shining moment.  I stood there
in the wreckage, confronted by the devil
but all I could think of, was not to heal a world
rent open, but only to surpass my fathers legacy,
to step out of his shadow and take his vengeance.”

I met him by the river, down
in Natchez, Mississippi
He said “Howdy, I’m from Texas
my name’s George.”
I said “George, it’s good to know you
but you’re a long, long way from Texas.
I wonder what has brought you here tonight?”

He said “Seb, this mighty river for two hundred
years and some, has been a curtain that carves
our mighty nation between old and new but now
my legacy will be a cutting even deeper, I have
left a house divided not by slow and muddy waters
but by lies and vicious prejudice of faith.”

I met him a church house
near Corpus Christi, Texas.
He said “Howdy, I’m from round here
my name’s George.”
I said “George it’s good to know you
and it’s good to see you home.
I wonder what has brought you here tonight?”

He said “Seb, my friend, I’m dying there’s
a cancer on my soul which no doctor can
locate and no surgeon can remove. I have
been a warrior for the rugged cross but now my
days are numbered, tell me, how will I explain
to god this ungodly blood upon my hands?”

This poem originally appeared on my MySpace blog, Full Mental Jacket, on 7/13/2007

This entry was published on 07/13/2007 at 2:39 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “howdy. my name’s george and i’m from texas

  1. Magnificent! You really should have sent some of these for publication!

Leave a Reply

