the convincer

She said “the purest stripe of fool
Is the man that breaks his own heart.”
I said
“convince me”.
She said “talk to me – this night is long
and the world has run dry of wine
I said
“convince me”
She said “your lack of faith will damn you
To a hell far worse than your imagination can design”
I said
“convince me”
She said “the sight of my naked breasts will make you
ache for me and my beauty”
I said
“convince me”

She said “Seb, your are the bloodless moon
Your are Lucifer’s cold pony, you are the flinty hearted
Heathcliffe in my dreams”
I said
“convince me”
She said “Seb, I made a voodoo doll of you filled with
lavender, a pigeon’s heart, four black stones and ash from
a burned out willow tree – it’s magick is uncertain but formidable
I said
“convince me”
She said “Sebby Darling, I have a c-90 tape of “When Doves Cry” repeated
on an endless loop and I will make love to you tonight
as it plays and you will know ecstasies you never dreamed possible”
I said
“convince me”
She said “Seb, marrying me, if only for tonight,
holds untold political advantages”
I said
“convince me”

she said “Seb your days are numbered, count them down
from this day forth ”
I said
“convince me”
She said “the last tree will fall and the mighty earthquake which
signals the end of all things will lay waste your precious green-room and
all other things unholy and the wilderness will be populated by marauding
gangs of adolescents driving dune buggies, armed with M-16s
I said
“convince me”
She said “love can get us through tonight”
I said
“convince me”
She said “I am prepared to leave you unless you come, right now, to me.”
and I said

This poem originally appeared on my MySpace blog, Full Mental Jacket, on 4/12/2007

This entry was published on 04/13/2007 at 1:49 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

