winterhue

There’s a different light
that wraps us up in winter –
It’s gentler,
more the mountains
than the sea.
I thought about it,
waiting at the hospital
as you signed
the paperwork
and said goodbye.

I know I have no right
of expectation.
and I know
our past and history
is just exactly that,
But I’ve been good to you
even if you do
not know it.
All my choices made
have kept me
here for you.

We watched the sunset
through the bedroom
window. My lazy finger
tracing tattoos
on your spine,
my cheek pressed warm
and stubbled
to your shoulder,
listening to your breath
mix in with mine

There’s a different light
that wraps you up in winter.
It’s dimmer,
it shrouds you closely
like a cloak.
There’s a strong streak of cruelty
in your flowing
raven hair
and your eyes no longer glow
with summer’s verdant ray.

I know
I’m not the man
you want to be with
and I suspect
you do this
for the debt
you feel you owe.
Winter nights are dark –
I think I’d rather
you slipped away than withered

here with me.

There’s a strong streak
of cruelty
in your raven hair.

This poem was first published on my MySpace Blog, Full Mental Jacket, on 11/19/2006

This entry was published on 11/19/2006 at 12:56 am and is filed under 2006, Poems, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

