four days drunk

Photobucket

Four days drunk in a
weird room, playing cards
with Christ, his cross
and his cold, cruel nails

Four days drunk
with my violent friends
stabbing myself because
I do so love being stabbed.

Four days drunk
with a brown eyed girl
who was born in
Indiana

Four days drunk
with her butterfly-tattooed ass
She had never seen
the sea before.

Four days drunk
in a shotgun shack
I’d send y’all a postcard
but I’m too fucked up to write.

Four days drunk
I’m out of blood, whiskey and cum
think I’ll sleep until September
maybe then I’ll drive
back home.

This revision was posted 2/22/2012. The original version is available from my MySpace blog, Full Mental Jacket, where it first appeared on on 03/06/2006

This entry was published on 03/08/2006 at 4:03 am and is filed under 2006, Poems. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “four days drunk

  1. Pingback: Straightforward Poems for Straightforward People « tarnation and eudemonia

  2. Excellent interpretation. The music has a turgid intensity, always confronting in it’s rhythm,m and always questing in it’s incisive and angular melodic lines. The re-write is much tighter than the original – it loses no character and brings what’s important into focus.

  3. Nice work, Seb. Tightened it up well.

  4. Anonymous on said:

    Nice 🙂

  5. I like the tightening of the verse, yes, but I like especially the tight, fetid claustrophobic music you chose here. There’s no where to hid in it, it focus the driving words very well.

Leave a Reply

